Camera #2 – Minolta Maxxum 5

Camera #2
Camera #2

Today I picked up this Minolta Maxxum 5 with a Sigma 28-90mm macro lens, a really nice camera bag, and 9 rolls of 400 speed film.  The camera needs a new battery door cover, so I got the price discounted for the cost of the replacement. Basically, I paid for the film and maybe the lens; the bag and camera were free.    I ordered the replacement battery door cover, but was able to do some initial test shots holding the battery door closed with duct tape.

I must say, I’m loving the auto-focus.  I’m amazed at how fast it is!  As one of the last film cameras Minolta made, this one is pretty feature-packed.  After an hour of messing around and shooting a few frames, I think I like it much more than my AE-1P.  The macro is much better than my FD zoom.  I’m fighting the urge to order a telephoto zoom already!  We’ll see how the results are after developing, but the 28-90mm will be fine for my next trip.  I’m shooting a roll of the regular Fuji 200.  Bad news is, the filter thread is 55mm, so my 52mm Canon filters won’t work.  I’ll worry about that once I decide on what stays and what gets passed on to someone else.

There’s a few more cameras soon to be part of my stable and auditioning to become my main camera, including a pair of Minolta manual focus cameras and a second Maxxum 5.  Yeah – I like it that much already.  I’ll share my thoughts of each, as well as results.  All will use Fuji films because they’re the cheapest ones I have.  Once they pass the first audition, then I’ll drop some Portra or Ektar in them, maybe some B&W, with Velvia being the final test.  (The AE-1P never made it to Velvia – yet.)

I’m looking forward to the next couple weeks of auditioning new cameras (and bags – I think there’s a total of 5 cases and bags I’m getting with the cameras!) in an effort to be ready for my next trip.  Until then, I’ll enjoy burning some film.  I also have results from the first 3 rolls of B&W in the AE-1P and maybe a few shots from a roll of Portra 400 coming soon too.  It looks like it will be a fun week!

2 thoughts on “Camera #2 – Minolta Maxxum 5

Leave a Reply

