Napoli – Captured on Tri-X

Naples as seen from the Certosa di San martino
Naples as seen from the Certosa di San Martino

During my most recent trip to Naples, Italy I finally made it up the hill to visit the Castle Sant’Elmo only to find it was not open in the evenings, and was closed the following day.  But at least the view was worth it.  It was also my first trip up to Vomero, riding the funicolare.  Vomero has a distinctly different feel from the historical center and the Spanish Quarter.

After a dinner of fried pizza washed down by a Ceres, a little gelato, and some people watching, I was chased back to my hotel by a heavy storm.  If you’re ever in Naples, I think Vomero is worth a trip – especially if the Centro Storico isn’t what you pictured in your mind prior to visiting Napoli.  For me, the city is best represented in black & white on film.

 

Leave a Reply

