More photos from Italy on Velvia

I just returned from a couple weeks of travel, so I was starting to gather rolls of film together for developing.  I started thinking about what I needed to re-order, decided to look at some previous shots to make a decision between Ilford HP5 and Kodak Tri-X, and I found three folders of unfiled images on my computer as I was categorizing scans of several recently developed rolls of film.  All of them were from trips to Italy, apparently developed and scanned and in progress of archiving when my grandmother was diagnosed with cancer last summer and I stopped shooting a lot of film.

In my previous job, I used to travel to Italy a good bit, and I have a few other rolls I just had developed that contain some images from Italy as well.  Since I no longer travel there as a regular part of work and haven;t been there for a year, it brought back some great memories.  The first folder had some images from La Spezia and Napoli captured on Fuji Velvia 50.

Let me say this: I absolutely love Velvia!  These photos are from the trip when I first shot it, and are a big part of why I just bought another 20 rolls for this summer.  I now have at least another 10 rolls of film to develop from my recent trips plus recent and not-so-recent camera tests, and another 10 or so to go through from the last 12 months that I just had developed.

So to kick off a summer of shooting a bunch of film, here’s a few shots from Italy.  The Ligurian Sea really is that blue in places….

Leave a Reply

